Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery Update set to version 1.7 or higher.

Error message

Responsive Menus found a problem. Please check the errors.


The C.D. Howe Institute is governed by its Board of Directors, which is composed of private sector leaders, senior academics, and policy leaders. The Board meets twice per year, in the spring and the fall. The Board has three main responsibilities: to approve the strategic direction of the Institute’s policy work, to ensure that the Institute’s commitments to independence and quality are upheld, and to ensure that the Institute’s management runs the organization efficiently and prudently, making the best possible use of donations and member and subscriber contributions.

Hugh L. MacKinnon

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Bennett Jones LLP

Brian M. Levitt, O.C.

Chair of the Board, TD; Partner & Co-Chair, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP


President and Chief Executive Officer

Charles Brindamour

President & CEO, Intact Financial Corporation

Scott Burns

Chairman & CEO, BURNCO Group of Companies

President and Chief Executive Officer, GE Canada

Hélène Desmarais, C.M.

Chairman & CEO, Centre d’entreprises et d’innovation de Montréal

Victor G. Dodig

President & CEO, CIBC

Sheldon Elman, M.D

Chairman & CEO, Medisys Health Group Inc.

Blake C. Goldring, M.S.M., CFA

Executive Chairman & CEO, AGF Management Ltd.

Bruce Gordon

Chairman, Manulife Insurance Canada

Paul Hill

Chairman, President & CEO, Harvard Developments Inc., A Hill Company